Public Administration in Washington

Washington is the Northwestern most state in the continental United States. Its northern border is with Canada, while it borders Idaho to the West and Oregon to the South. Washington was the 42nd state to join the Union in 1889. It’s now the 18th largest state in terms of size and the 13th largest in population. Well over half of the states population lives in or around Seattle, which is one of the biggest metropolitan areas in the country, ranking 15th in population. Spokane is the second largest city in the state, while the capital is Olympia.

Public Administration in Washington

washington2Washington is known as a major producer of lumber, with a great deal of Douglas fir, hemlock and ponderosa, among other types of trees. In addition, Washington is the biggest producer of apples in the country. For that, it’s well known. Though you’ll hear less about it, Washington also leads the nation in sweet cherries, lentils, hops, pears and spearmint oil. Economically, aside from agriculture, Washington relies on industries involving aircraft and missiles, as well as shipbuilding.

Schools in Washington that Offer a Master of Public Administration

There are two National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration accredited programs in Washington offering a Master of Public Administration. They’re the University of Washington and Seattle University. The Evergreen State College and Eastern Washington University both offer programs that are not accredited by the NASPAA.

The University of Washington is a public university in Seattle, Washington, which has more than 42,000 students. More than 12,000 of its students are postgraduates. The University of Washington was founded in 1861 and is considered by many to be a Public Ivy university. It’s a member of the American Association of Universities, one of two such schools in the Pacific Northwest. Athletically, the University of Washington is prominent and competes in the Pac-12 conference.

Seattle University is home to almost 8,000 students, of which about 3,000 are postgraduates. It is located in Seattle and was established in 1891. Seattle University is a private, religiously affiliated school. It is affiliated with the Jesuit Roman Catholic church. It has eight different colleges within the university.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This