Public Administration in Utah

Utah is a large state in the Western United States, which is home to almost 3,000,000 Americans. The largest city in Utah is Salt Lake City, which is also its capital. Utah was the 45th state to join the Union in 1896.

Like some other Western states, much of the land is utterly uninhabited, with the population focused in certain areas. Utah’s western border is with Nevada, while it borders Arizona to the south and Colorado to the East. The Southeastern corner of the state also borders New Mexico. To the North, Utah is bordered by Idaho and Wyoming.

Public Administration in Utah

utah2Religion plays an important role in Utah, where nearly two-thirds of the population reports itself as a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, which has its world headquarters in Salt Lake City.

Tourism is important to the economy in Utah, with major destinations including the five national parks in the state: Arches National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Capitol Reef National Park and Zion National Park. Utah is also a major destination in the winter for skiers.

Schools in Utah that Offer a Master of Public Administration

Both Brigham Young University and the University of Utah have Master of Public Administration degrees, and their programs are both accredited through the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration.

Brigham Young University is a private, non-profit school that is affiliated with The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. As a result, its students are held to a strict code of conduct based on some of the principles of Mormon living. There are about 30,000 undergraduates at Brigham Young University, which is better known as BYU. There are also more than 3,000 postgraduate students at BYU, a large percentage of which are part-time students. Brigham Young University was founded in 1875 and is the biggest religious university in the country.

The University of Utah is a public university, the flagship of the state’s system, which was founded in 1850. The University of Utah is in Salt Lake City and has a total of more than 32,000 students. Approximately 7,500 of the students at the University of Utah are postgraduates.

The University of Utah was originally named the University of Deseret and later renamed in 1892.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This